1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

An Illustrated History of the Long Jump


4 of 5

American domination continues
An Illustrated History of the Long Jump

Joe Greene, Carl Lewis and Mike Powell

Mike Powell/Allsport/Getty Images
Americans have dominated Olympic men's long jump, and never more so than in 1992 when Carl Lewis (center) won the third of his four consecutive Olympic gold medals, edging Mike Powell (right), who earned his second silver medal while fellow American Joe Greene (left) captured the first of his two bronze medals. One year earlier, Powell broke Bob Beamon's world record with a jump measuring 8.95 meters.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.