1. Sports
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.
Mike Rosenbaum

Farah, Kipsang Lead 2013 Men's Distance Runners

By January 9, 2014

Follow me on:

The standout name in men's distance running remained unchanged in 2013: Mo Farah. After winning the 5000-10,000 distance double at the 2012 Olympics, Farah repeated the feat with a double-gold medal performance at the Moscow World Championships. Farah won the 5000 meters with a strong closing kick on the final two laps, finishing in 13:26.98. Hagos Gebrhiwet of Ethiopia was second and Kenya's Isiah Koech third. Edwin Soi of Kenya posted the world's fastest time, 12:51.34, in Monaco. Yenew Alamirew had the year's third-fastest time, finishing in 12:58.75 at the Diamond League final in Brussels. The victory was Alamirew's third of the Diamond League season, giving him the overall series title. Gebrhiwet won two Diamond League events.

In the World Championship 10,000 meters, Ethiopia's Ibrahim Jeilan tried to duplicate his 2011 feat of beating Farah on the final lap. But Farah out-kicked Jeilan in Moscow to win in 27:21.71. Jeilan held on for the silver medal while Kenya's Paul Tanui took the bronze. The 10,000-meter race in Sollentuna in June produced the year's top three times, including Dejen Gebremeskel's world-leading 26:51.02. Kenenisa Bekele won the second-fastest race, in Eugene, with a time of 27:12.08. All of the year's top 10 times occurred in the two races.

The year's marathon highlight came shortly after the World Championships, when Kenya's Wilson Kipsang set a world record by finishing the Berlin Marathon in 2:03:23. Other sub-2:05 marathon winners included Dennis Kimetto in Chicago (2:03:45) and Lelisa Desisa in Dubai (2:04:45). Stephen Kiprotich of Uganda, the 2012 Olympic champion, out-raced a pair of Ethiopians in the final 2 kilometers to win the World Championship marathon in 2:09:51. Desisa earned the silver while Tadese Tola gained the bronze.


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.